Skip to main content

Data-Planet and Discovery Services: Discovery Services Partners

Documents Data-Planet participation in the discovery services, and offers ways to promote discoverability.

Discovery Services Partners as of January 2018

Data-Planet is deeply committed to helping drive usage and promoting discoverability of library resources. 

As of 2018, Data-Planet metadata records have been integrated into two DSPs:

  • ProQuest Summon (as of September 2017)
  • EBSCO Discovery Service (as of January 2018)

 

We actively seek to partner with discovery service providers and metasearch vendors. Interested in partnering with us? Contact us at info@data-planet.com

STATEMENT OF PARTICIPATION IN THE DISCOVERY SERVICES

Per NISO Open Discovery Initiative recommendations, Data-Planet is pleased to provide the following Statement of Participation in Discovery Services:

SAGE, publisher of Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, provides descriptive metadata to Discovery Service Providers (DSPs) via partner agreement. As of June 2017, Data-Planet has agreed to provide metadata records for ingesting into the central index of these products:

  • ProQuest Summon
  • ProQuest Primo
  • EBSCO Discovery Service
  • OCLC WorldCat Discovery

As of 2018, Data-Planet metadata records have been integrated into two DSPs:

  • ProQuest Summon
  • EBSCO Discovery Service

Content coverage:

Data-Planet aggregates statistical datasets and the “full-text” of the datasets, ie, the underlying data points, is available to Data-Planet subscribing institutions. Statistical data points, however, are not suitable for indexing in the DSPs. Rather, Data-Planet provides over 60,000 metadata records resolving to high-level entry points of the 4.9 billion+ datasets available in the Data-Planet application to the DSPs.

Metadata elements provided to DSPs:

Metadata Element

Example

Dataset Title

Population Estimates from the Population Estimates - Detail (1980 - Current) database shown as count; Date Type: Year ; Age: All Ages ; Gender: All Genders ; Race: All Races

Dataset Source ("Author")

United States Census Bureau

Publisher Name

Data-Planet by Conquest Systems

Place of Publication

Bethesda, MD

Date of Publication

20170918

Date Range of Content Item

(1980 - Current)

Market Product

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Content Type

electronic resource

Content Format

online resource with data files; statistical data and abstract

Unique Dataset Identifier

001-001-001

Abstract

Shows estimated population, by state, county, age, sex, and race and Hispanic ethnicity. Presents state and county…

Subject Terms

Population Distribution; Population Change; …

Geographic Terms

Alabama; Alaska; Arizona; Arkansas;…

Item URL

http://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/content?type=dp&param=7fuKsUAw6JIXQOnhk9uUe-UpMFnQiKSZYvq7OKyIEQBjd-FVx6D0FeOjsyDSPj630PGVkegytH_Fd0XKmK2USfI-LSworSu_H-xlHaFTdid1cfZdmUiMjjc0CF1-Ce5uVgiwt-YiVbmRmS2M_gpMvKg5l5QN9vn3FIquyKAWZ$xBASIC

 

Open Discovery Initiative Conformance Checklist

Below find Data-Planet's completed ODI Conformance Checklist, describing Data-Planet Statistical Datasets' conformance with NISO RP-19-2014, the recommended practices of NISO’s Open Discovery Initiative

Y/P/N

Recommendation

Reference

Comment

Y

Content Provider makes available to Discovery Service Providers core metadata and underlying full-text/original content for complete offerings.

3.2.1.1 (1)
(p. 15)

Data-Planet aggregates statistical datasets. The statistics that comprise the “full-text” of the content are not content items suitable for indexing in the Discovery Services; rather descriptive metadata describing the datasets are provided to the Discovery Service Providers

Y

Content Provider makes available to Discovery Service Providers, the core set of metadata elements (see 3.2.1.2) for each item submitted for indexing.

3.2.1.1 (2)
(p. 15)

See Data-Planet’s Statement of Participation in the Discovery Services (above) for a listing of metadata elements.

Y

Content Provider provides the content item and additional descriptive content for as much of their content as possible.

3.2.1.1 (3)
(p. 15)

Data-Planet provides over 60,000 metadata records resolving to high-level entry points of the 4.9 billion+ datasets available in the Data-Planet application to the DSPs. An overview of Data-Planet sources and datasets, visit http://data-planet.libguides.com/datasetsandsources.

Y

Content Provider provides libraries, on request, with a statement of participation in the discovery services, including disclosure of coverage depth and content depth

3.2.2
(p. 22)

Data-Planet’s Statement of Participation in the Discovery Services is publicly available above.

Y

Content Provider's agreements with Discovery Service Providers do not include non-disclosure agreements.

3.2.3
(p. 22)

 

Y

The transfer of Content Provider's data to Discovery Service Providers makes use of existing standards where applicable and uses one of the metadata encoding schemes listed in 3.3.3.

3.2.4
(p. 22)

Data-Planet metadata elements are transferred to Discovery Service Providers via MARC21 and MART text encoding.

  • "Y" (for Yes) indicates compliance with the indicated paragraph of this Recommended Practice.
  • "P" (for Partial) indicates partial compliance for which explanatory comments should be entered in the last column.
  • "N" (for No) indicates noncompliance with the recommendation. 

Data-Planet

 

 

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data-Planet guides for your institution.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Emailonlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk

Website: www.data-planet.com

Blog: http://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

 

Contact support