Skip to main content

Marketing Resources and Data-Planet News for Libraries: Usage Statistics Reporting Practices

Tools to help libraries communicate about the Data-Planet statistical repository with their communities.

Usage Reporting as of November 2017

As of November 2017, Data-Planet is providing two sets of usage statistics:

  • a legacy system that reports Sessions, Searches and Retrievals as defined below.
  • statistics on Searches (Regular), Result Clicks, Record Views, and Access Denied compliant with COUNTER 4 Code of Practice definitions (below).

Data-Planet is in the process of developing COUNTER 4 compliant Database 1 (DB1), Database 2 (DB2), and Platform 1 (PR1) reports. (COUNTER Reports present particular challenges for Data-Planet because COUNTER Reports require that time period data be presented in columns, while the Data-Planet platform is structured for presentation of time period data in rows.) In the interim, site administrators may access usage statistics on demand through the Data-Planet User Admin module. Contact onlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk for credentials if your institution is not currently set up with access to the tool.                                                                                                                                 

 

Legacy Usage Statistics: Sessions, Searches, Retrievals Defined

Data-Planet has historically provided usage statistics for Sessions, Searches, and Retrievals, defined as follows:

  • Sessions: a successful log-in to the Data-Planet interface.
  • Searches: a user-driven intellectual query, either by submitting a query using the search forms (Quick Search, Advanced Search, or State or International Statistical Overviews [as in figure a below]) or by making a selection via browsing.
  • Retrievals: a successful request for a database view (for example, a chart/map/graph/trend) that has originated from a set of search results, from browsing the database, or from a click on another database record. 

Figure a:

 

 

COUNTER 4 Compliant Statistics

Usage Statistic Definition
Result Clicks A click originating from a set of a set of search results, from browsing the database, or from a click on another database record. (Note that in Data-Planet, a Result Click and a Record View are the same.)
Record Views A successful request for a database view (for example, a chart/map/graph/trend) that has originated from a set of search results, from browsing the database, or from a click on another database record.
Searches (Regular) A user-driven intellectual query, either by submitting a query using the search forms (Quick Search, Advanced Search, or State or International Statistical Overviews) or by making a selection via browsing.
Access Denied (No License) User is denied access to Data-Planet because the user or the user's institution does not have access rights. Note that in Data-Planet access to content items is governed by the platform license.

 

COUNTER 4 Compliant Reports (in development)

Report Types (in development) Definition

Database Report 1 (DB1)

[Database=Data-Planet BASIC subscription and any premium content licensed by the subscribing organization.]

Total Searches, Result Clicks and Record Views by Month and Database

Database Report 2 (DB2)

[Database=Data-Planet BASIC subscription and any premium content licensed by the subscribing organization.]

Access Denied by Month, Database and Category

Platform Report 1 (PR1)

[Platform A = Data-Planet Statistical Datasets and Platform B = Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference]

Total Searches, Result Clicks and Record Views by Month and Platform

 

Data-Planet

 

 

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data-Planet guides for your institution.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Emailonlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk

Website: www.data-planet.com

Blog: http://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

 

Contact support