Skip to main content

Datasets - Newly Added and Coming Soon: New Datasets

Provides a list of datasets newly added and currently being prepared for addition to the Data Planet repository.

Datasets Coming Soon to Data Planet Repository

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

  • National Accounts Statistics: The OECD National Accounts Statistics database includes annual and quarterly data on a wide range of topics from 1955, such as gross domestic product (GDP) with its three approaches: expenditure based, output based and income based; gross domestics product (GDP) per capita; disposable income; population and employment; PPPs and exchange rates; general government accounts; financial accounts flows and stocks and central government debt. Statistics cover OECD countries and non-member economies and are internationally comparable.
  • Social and Welfare Statistics: Formerly titled the OECD Social Expenditure Database (SOCX), the dataset includes reliable and internationally comparable statistics on OECD member countries. Metrics include public and mandatory and voluntary private social expenditure at program level, covering old age, survivors, and incapacity-related benefits; health, family, and active labor market programs; and unemployment, housing, GINI, poverty, income inequality, and other social policy areas.

 

World Trade Organization

  • WTO Annual Trade in Merchandise and Services: This dataset provides statistics on global trade in merchandise and services. The statistics are made available by the WTO Secretariat, and cover merchandise exports and imports, globally or by product and/or country.
  • WTO Merchandise Trade Indices: This WTO dataset presents indices of merchandise trade. It comprises value, volume and unit value indices for available individual countries, geographical regions, and economic groupings.

US Census Bureau

  • Quarterly Workforce Indicators: The QWI are a set of 32 economic indicators including employment, job creation/destruction, wages, hires, and other measures of employment flows in the US. The QWI are reported based on detailed firm characteristics (geography, industry, age, size) and worker demographics (sex, age, education, race, ethnicity) and are available tabulated to national*, state, metropolitan/micropolitan areas, county, and workforce investment areas (WIA). The QWI are unique in their ability to track both firm and worker characteristics over time – enabling analyses such as a longitudinal look at wages by worker sex and age across counties, ranking job creation rates of young firms across NAICS industry groups, and comparing hiring levels by worker race and education levels across a selection of metropolitan areas.

Datasets Newly Added to Data Planet Repository

EASI Market Planner 2017 June 2018

US Environmental Protection Agency - April 2018

US Census Bureau American Community Survey, 5-year estimates, 2012-2016 - February 2018

US Department of Homeland Security Refugees and Asylees  - January 2018   

US Department of Homeland Security Naturalizations - January 2018   

US Department of Homeland Security Nonimmigrant Admissions - January 2018   

US Department of Homeland Security Immigration Enforcement Actions - January 2018   

Energy Information Administration Electricity - Detailed - November 2017

Energy Information Administration Natural Gas - Detailed ​- November 2017

Energy Information Administration Petroleum and Other Liquids - Detailed ​- November 2017

Centers for Disease Control Sexually Transmitted Diseases Morbidity Data - August 2017

Energy Information Administration International Energy Statistics - July 2017

US Census Bureau American Community Survey, 2011-2015 5-year estimates - June 2017

EASI Market Planner 2016 - May 2017

FactSet Corporate Fundamentals - December 2016

Regional Economic Outlook: Western Hemisphere (International Monetary Fund) - September 2016

Penn World Table version 9.0 - July 2016

Global Historical Climatology Network - June 2016

Infogroup Business USAJune 2016

EASI Market Planner 2015 (Easy Analytic Software, Inc) - April 2016

 

Data Planet Statistical Datasets Coverage Policy

The statistical datasets included in the Data Planet repository are added based on an evaluation and prioritization process that takes into account the following factors:

  1. Customer expressed request for a particular dataset to be added to the repository
  2. Authority of the source organization that collects, analyzes, and releases the dataset
  3. Statistical credibility of the dataset: considered here is how well documented the dataset is with respect to sampling, data collection methodology, and data analysis procedures
  4. Fit of the dataset within the repository’s scope of coverage, defined at a high level by 16 subject areas
  5. Reliability of the source organization data release process, especially timeliness and regularity of updates

 

 

 

 

To identify new datasets for addition to the repository, the data development and editorial teams periodically assess gaps of coverage by subject area. In addition, government, nongovernmental, international, and other organizational websites and news releases are followed on an ongoing basis to identify new datasets for evaluation and potential addition to the repository.

Suggestions on datasets to add to the Data-Planet repository are welcome! Please contact us at onlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk.

 

Spotlight on New Data! Q2 2018

EASI Market Planner 2017 is now available in Data Planet! This premium dataset offers model-based indicators of demographic characteristics, consumer spending, and behavior patterns for a wide range of geographic areas. Find a wealth of statistics pertinent to market research, entrepreneurship, and business courses - visit here for more information.

Data Planet also added seven major datasets from the Environmental Protection Agency in April. Together, these datasets provide comprehensive data at a very granular level on Air Quality in the United States. The datasets include:

  • Air Quality Metrics - Annual Summary Data
  • Count of Days by Harmful Criteria Air Pollutant Gases and Particulates - Annual Summary Data
  • Count of Days by Level of Health Concern - Annual Summary Data
  • Hazardous and Toxic Air Pollutant Metrics and Meteorological Conditions by Monitoring Site - Annual Summary Data
  • Harmful Criteria Air Pollutant Gases and Particulates - Daily Summary Data
  • Hazardous and Toxic Air Pollutant Metrics by Monitoring Site - Daily Summary Data
  • Meteorological Conditions by Monitoring Site - Daily Summary Data

 

Spotlight on New Data! Q1 2018

Data Planet added four additional US Department of Homeland Security databases to the repository.  Already available in the repository is the DHS database on Persons Obtaining Lawful Permanent Residence (or “green card” recipients)  in the United States.

  • Refugees and Asylees provides data on foreign nationals granted asylum or refugee status by the United States. 
  • Naturalizations provides statistics on the number of persons aged 18 years and older who became naturalized United States. 
  • Nonimmigrant Admissions offers statistics on nonimmigrant admissions into the United States.
  • Immigration Enforcement Actions reports on actions taken by the Department of Homeland Security  to prevent unlawful entry into the United States and to apprehend and repatriate aliens who have violated or failed to comply with US immigration laws.

American Community Survey, 5-year estimates, 2012-2016

The American Community Survey (ACS) conducted by the United States Census Bureau provides estimates of the characteristics of the population over a specific time period. The ACS collects data from the 50 states, Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico, where it is called the Puerto Rico Community Survey.The 500+ individual datasets that make up the American Community Survey contain over 21,000 sociodemographic indicators.

Spotlight on New Data! Q4 2017

Energy Information Administration Detailed Databases

During Q4 2017 Data Planet ingested all the data released via the EIA API, which has added an amazing amount of incredibly granular data. Three new databases are now found in Data Planet:

Electricity - Detailed

Natural Gas - Detailed

Petroleum and Other Liquids - Detailed

Databases sourced from EIA that are available in Data Planet now include:

HAVE FUN EXPLORING!

Spotlight on New Data! Q3 2017

International Energy Statistics

The dataset, published by the Energy Information  Administration, provides energy-related metrics, including production, consumption, reserves and capacity, imports, and exports, by energy source,  for over 200 countries.

Sexually Transmitted Diseases Morbidity Data

The load of this data provides a significant update to the previously published dataset. This dataset contains Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD) morbidity case reports reported to the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and Guam. The number of cases and disease incidence rates are reported by year, gender of patient, type of STD, and area of report. 

Spotlight on New Data! Q2 2017

American Community Survey, 5-year estimates, 2011-2015

The American Community Survey (ACS) conducted by the United States Census Bureau provides estimates of the characteristics of the population over a specific time period. The ACS collects data from the 50 states, Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico, where it is called the Puerto Rico Community Survey.The 500+ individual datasets that make up the American Community Survey contain over 21,000 sociodemographic indicators.

 

EASI Market Planner 2016

EASI Market Planner statistics cover a wide range of topics essential for business planning and development. EASI develops model-based indicators of the demographic characteristics, consumer spending, and behavior patterns for a wide range of geographic areas—state, counties, census tracts, and block groups. Use EASI statistics to target specific demographics for new product development or to identify emerging consumer demand. For more detail on using EASI statistics in Data Planet, visit here.

 

Spotlight on New Data! Q4 2016

FactSet Corporate Fundamentals

This huge database provides stock fundamentals data for active United States and Canadian listed companies. The FactSet data are widely used in project work ranging from freshman core business courses to graduate-degree classes. The dataset provides indicators key to understanding company performance, offering authoritative support for portfolio management.

Companies in the dataset are identified by symbol and name. Equities, common stock, and some ETFs and preferred stocks are covered. Exchanges include BATS, NYSE, NASDAQ, NYSE MKT, NYSE ARCA, TSX, limited OTCBB and TSX Venture coverage (liquid companies only). Data points include earnings and dividends, ratios and sales, and stock price.

Data Planet distributes the data, produced by FactSet, via license from Xignite. Both companies are well-established and well-respected producers of financial market data and services.

For more information, visit Exploring FactSet Corporate Fundamentals in Data Planet Statistical Datasets.

 

Spotlight on New Data! Q3 2016

Penn World Table version 9.0

The Penn World Tables (PWT) display national accounts economic time series covering many countries. Its expenditure entries are denominated in a common set of prices in a common currency so that real quantity comparisons can be made, both between countries and over time. It also provides information about relative prices within and between countries, as well as demographic data and capital stock estimates.

Since the regionalization of the United Nations International Comparison Programme (ICP) beginning with the 1980 benchmark, Robert Summers and Alan Heston at the Center for International Comparisons of Production, Income and Prices at the University of Pennsylvania have been using ICP benchmark comparisons as a basis for estimating PPPs (purchasing power parities) for non-benchmark countries and extrapolations backward and forward in time. As of PWT 8.0, the PWT are hosted at the Groningen Growth and Development Centre within the Economics Department of the University of Groningen. For more detail on the Penn World Tables databases, visit our guide here.

Regional Economic Outlook - Western Hemisphere

The Regional Economic Outlook (REO): Western Hemisphere database provides descriptive statistics on recent economic developments and prospects for nations in the Western hemisphere. Data are prepared in conjunction with the IMF World Economic Outlook (WEO), and data are consistent with projections underlying the WEO. Arithmetic weighted averages are used for all concepts, except for inflation and broad money, for which geometric weighted averages are used. PPP (purchasing power parity) GDP (gross domestic product) weights from the WEO are used for the aggregation of real GDP growth, real non-oil GDP growth, real per capita GDP growth, investment, national savings, broad money, claims on the nonfinancial private sector, and real and nominal effective exchange rates. Aggregates for other concepts are weighted by GDP in US dollars at market exchange rates.

Data Planet

 

 

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data Planet guides for your institution.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Emailonlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk

Website: www.data-planet.com

Blog: http://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

 

Data Planet Tutorial

Watch a video tutorial on Data Planet below!

Or, click here for an excellent introduction to Data Planet by Amanda Howell, Business Librarian, Andersen Library, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Thanks Amanda! 

Access to Data Planet

The Data Planet repository is accessible via two complementary interfaces:

 

Data Planet Statistical Datasets is available via IP (and proxy server) authentication at http://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/. The Data Planet Statistical Datasets interface allows users to browse available datasets by subject and source and to manipulate variables to create customized views of the data, as well as to search for statistics of interest via Quick and/or Advanced Search.

Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference can be accessed directly at http://readyreference.data-planet.com. This access point connects users directly to Data Planet's Quick and Advanced Search functions.

 

(EZproxy users, please visit here.)

Contact support