Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Quarterly Workforce Indicators: About QWI

Fully explore this massive database using the power and functionality of the Data Planet platform.

About QWI

The Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) provide local labor market statistics by industry. The QWI source data are unique job-level data that link workers to their employers, which allows analysis of the local labor market or industry by worker demographic characteristics; for instance, identifying industries with aging workforces. Links between workers and firms also allow the QWI to identify worker flows – hires, separations, and turnover – as well as net employment growth. Wages by industry and demographics as well as by whether the worker was newly hired are also available, allowing comparison of wages between new hires and continuing workers. Also, wage growth for similar workers across industries can be compared to identify important local labor market trends. 

The source data for the QWI is the Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD) linked employer-employee microdata. The LEHD data is a massive longitudinal database covering over 95% of US private sector jobs. Much of this data is collected via a unique federal-state data sharing collaboration, the Local Employment Dynamics (LED) partnership, which is a cooperative venture between the US Census Bureau and state agencies of all 50 states, the Washington, DC, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Through the LED program, partner states voluntarily submit quarterly data files from existing administrative record systems, which are combined with a range of other data sources to generate public use products, such as QWI. By integrating data used to administer public programs with existing census and surveys, a new national jobs database is generated at very low cost and with no additional respondent burden.

Data Planet offers the complete QWI database as a premium. A subset (labeled as QWI - Industry) is available in the basic Data Planet access that provides data for nine indicators by industry sector and industry group.

Source: US Census Bureau. Quarterly Workforce Indicators 101. Retrieved April 19, 2019, https://lehd.ces.census.gov/doc/QWI_101.pdf.

Finding Premium Datasets by Subject

Quarterly Workforce Indicators is one of several premium datasets available in the Data Planet repository. (Others include EASI Market Analytics, China Data Center (subnational data), Claritas Consumer Profiles, Claritas Financial and Insurance Clout, and Infogroup Business USA). For more information on the premium offerings, click here.) 

To see if your library subscribes to any of these modules, click on the Featured Datasets tab in the left hand Browse indicator panel (the panel on the left side) in Data Planet Statistical Datasets. If available at your library, you will see the dataset listed. You'll also find it, as well as the QWI-Industry subset by Subject, under Labor and Employment, and Source, under United States Census Bureau.

 

Quarterly Workforce Indicators in Data Planet

Data Planet offers the massive Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) database, which includes 32 indicators providing labor market statistics by industry group and sector, firm size and age, and by worker demographics, dating as far back as 1990 for some geographic areas, as a premium. A subset of this database is also available in the base subscription to Data Planet as Quarterly Workforce Indicators - Industry. The subset includes nine of the total 32 indicators available in QWI and provides estimates for states, counties, and MSAs, by industry sector and industry group.

The sheer power of the  Data Planet Statistical Datasets platform is especially apparent in exploring the enormous amount of data in QWI. Quickly compare and contrast statistics across quarters, industries, geographies, and by firm and worker characteristics. Note that the latest available data is three quarters behind the production quarter. For example, the QWI data released in the fourth quarter of 2013 will contain QWI up to the first quarter of 2013. States are released separately on a rolling basis throughout the calendar quarter, and if data submission or data quality issues are encountered, QWI production for a state may be skipped for one or several quarters, until the issue is resolved.

To browse the available time series in the Quarterly Workforce Indicators database, Data Planet subscribers can link here. [Note: change the Results Display option to Show All Results to get an idea of the size of these datasets:

Quarterly Workforce Indicators Sample Data

Data Planet

 

 

ATTN DATA PLANET SUBSCRIBERS: Be sure you are logged into your library's network in order to access the Data Planet database from the links provided in these guides.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Emailonlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk

Website: https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/dataplanet

Blog: https://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data Planet guides for your institution.

About the Census Bureau

The United States Census Bureau is a bureau of the US Department of Commerce. The major functions of the Census Bureau are authorized by Article 2, Section 2 of the United States Constitution, which provides that a census of population shall be taken every 10 years, and by Title 13 and Title 26 of the United States Code of Federal Regulations.

The Census Bureau is responsible for numerous statistical programs, including census and surveys of households, governments, manufacturing and industries, and for US foreign trade statistics. The first US census was conducted in 1790 for the purposes of apportioning state representation in the House of Representatives and for the apportionment of taxes.

http://www.census.gov

Contact support