Skip to main content

Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices: Worldwide Stock Market Prices in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Access daily open and closing prices and more for stocks on all major exchanges, worldwide, in the Data-Planet repository, along with daily prices for gold, silver, platinum, and palladium.

About Worldwide Stock Market Prices

This dataset provides historical prices for equities trading on more than 50 global exchanges. Daily open, close, high, low, and volume statistics are reported. The historical depth of the time series available varies by equity.

Exchanges covered:

US: BATS, CBOE, Chicago Mercantile Exchange (including GLOBEX), MDX, NASDAQ, NYSE, NYSE ARCA, NYSE MKT EQUITIES, OPRA, OTC BB, OTC PINK MARKETPLACE, OTHER OTC/NBB

Eastern Europe: Budapest, NASDAQ OMX BALTIC (RIGA, Tallinn, and Vilnius), Prague, Spot Regulated Market-BVB, STANDARD-CLASSICA-FORTS, Warsaw

Western Europe: Athens, Exchange S.A. cash market, BME (Barcelona, Madrid, Valencia), Borsa Italiana – Milan, Irish, London, Espanol, NYSE EURONEXT (Amsterdam, Brussels, Lisbon, Paris), Swiss, Vienna

Germany: Berlin, Dusseldorf, Munchen, Stuttgart, Bratislava, Deutsche Boerse Ag – Frankfurt, Hamburg, Hannover, XETRA; Europe not elsewhere classified (NEC): CHI-X Europe, NYSE EURONEXT Cash Markets and Indices, NYSE EURONEXT LIFFE, SWX Europe

Nordic: NASDAQ OMX NORDIC (Copenhagen, Helskinki, Iceland, Stockholm)

Asia-Pacific: Bombay, Hong Kong, KOSDAQ, Korea, India, Shanghai, Shenzhen, Singapore, Taiwan, Tokyo

Africa: Johannesburg

Canada: CNSE, Montreal, Toronto, TSX, TSX Venture

South America: BOVESPA, Lima, Santiago

Middle East: Muscat, Tel Aviv

Australia/New Zealand: ASX, NZE

Data are provided by Xignite, who delivers on-demand financial market data covering global equities, commodities, currencies, options, fixed income, mutual funds, derivatives, and OTC (“over-the-counter” or those traded in a context other than a formal exchange) instruments.

Access to Data-Planet

The Data-Planet repository is accessible via two complementary interfaces:

 

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is available via IP (and proxy server) authentication at http://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/. The Data-Planet Statistical Datasets interface allows users to browse available datasets by subject and source and to manipulate variables to create customized views of the data, as well as to search for statistics of interest via Quick and/or Advanced Search.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference can be accessed directly at http://readyreference.data-planet.com. This access point connects users directly to Data-Planet's Quick and Advanced Search functions.

 

(EZproxy users, please visit here.)

Direct Link to Worldwide Stock Market Prices Premium Dataset

For those institutions subscribing to Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices, we suggest including a listing for the dataset in your A-Z list of databases in addition to the main entry for Data-Planet Statistical Datasets to help increase awareness:

Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices

Enter Data-Planet to find time-series data on Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices. Worldwide Stock Market Prices provides historical prices for equities trading on more than 50 global exchanges. Daily open, close, high, low, and volume statistics are reported. The Precious Metals Daily Price dataset provides daily spot prices for gold, silver, palladium, and platinum, and gold coin prices. After entering Data-Planet, find Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices datasets in the Browse by Subject – Stocks and Commodities listing.

Help Guide linkhttp://data-planet.libguides.com/worldwidestocksandpreciousmetals

Note: For a direct link into the Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices premium dataset, configure as http://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=iem

Exploring Worldwide Stock Market Prices in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Navigate to the Worldwide Stock Market Prices database in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets by using the Browse by Subject. You'll find the database in the indicator tree on the left-hand side of the screen by Browsing by Subject to the Stocks and Commodities folder. Data on 11 major market exchanges are duplicated in the first dataset listed (Worldwide Stock Market Prices - Major Exchanges). The second dataset listed, Worldwide Stock Market Prices - All Exchanges by Region, provides data on over 50 global exchanges, including the 11 major market exchanges.

 

 

Alternatively, if you're interested in a specific stock or exchange, use the Search box and select from the type-ahead. In the example below, a precise search is conducted on Symbol Name: Apple, Inc.

 

In Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, daily stock price open, close, high, low,and volume, for specific stocks can be viewed as stand-alone trends. For example, the chart below shows the trend in the daily closing price of Apple stock on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange:

 

Below each chart appears descriptive information about the source of the data, the dataset, and an option to create a DOI (digital object identifier), which ensures that you will be able to return to a copy of the chart at the time it was created:

 

Create a comparison of the volume of shares traded for Arc Exploration, an Australian company involved in gold exploration, on the ASX Match, and the daily gold fixings as in the chart below. To select multiple indicators, hold down the control (Ctrl) key when clicking on the second (or third) item on the indicator tree. For more information on selecting data for viewing, see http://data-planet.libguides.com/statisticaldatasets .

 

 

Try it yourself with another indicator, eg, comparing daily prices of stocks to the prices of precious metals and/or coins, etc.  Keep in mind that the graphs you create do not necessarily imply causality: the results may suggest a potential relationship between the variables you select, which may be an interesting line of inquiry for your own research.

 

For more information on using Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, see http://data-planet.libguides.com/statisticaldatasets .

 

Export Options

Export data andor infographics by using one of the many options available in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets.

For example, export the data in xls, csv, or SAS to manipulate in other statistical software. Embed an XML export on another web page.

 

The pdf option exports the chart you've created, along with descriptive metadata about the indicator and database, including a DOI link that provides a permanent link to the chart at the time it was created.

Contact support