Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data Planet Datasets and Sources: Data Planet Time Series and Source Organizations

Provides information on the datasets and indicators included in the vast Data Planet repository of statistical data, along with a listing of the source organizations that provide the data included in the repository.

Data Planet Statistical Datasets Coverage Policy

The statistical datasets included in the Data Planet repository are added based on an evaluation and prioritization process that takes into account the following factors:

  1. Customer expressed request for a particular dataset to be added to the repository
  2. Authority of the source organization that collects, analyzes, and releases the dataset
  3. Statistical credibility of the dataset: considered here is how well documented the dataset is with respect to sampling, data collection methodology, and data analysis procedures
  4. Fit of the dataset within the repository’s scope of coverage, defined at a high level by 16 subject areas
  5. Reliability of the source organization data release process, especially timeliness and regularity of updates

To identify new datasets for addition to the repository, the data development and editorial teams periodically assess gaps of coverage by subject area. In addition, government, nongovernmental, international, and other organizational websites and news releases are followed on an ongoing basis to identify new datasets for evaluation and potential addition to the repository.

Suggestions on datasets to add to the Data Planet repository are welcome! Please contact us at onlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk.

 

Data Series Available in Data Planet

Time series providing statistics in the 16 broad subject areas listed below are available in the Data Planet repository. 

· Agriculture & Food · Industry, Business, & Commerce
· Banking, Finance, & Insurance · International Relations & Trade
· Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement · Labor & Employment
· Education · Military & Defense
· Energy Resources & Industries · Natural Resources & Environment
· Government & Politics · Population & Income
· Health & Vital Statistics ·  Prices, Consumption, & Cost of Living
· Housing & Construction · Transportation & Traffic

 

The files immediately below provide information on the not publicly available datasets included in Data Planet, as well as databases with international content. 

Also, see below for a listing of the source organizations who collect and disseminate the datasets available in Data Planet Statistical Datasets.

Data Planet Source Organizations

Administrative Office of the US Courts Intercontinental Exchange Benchmark Administration
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Internal Revenue Service
Australian Bureau of Statistics International Monetary Fund
Barchart NASDAQ OMX Group (US)
BSE Limited (India) National Bureau of Economic Research
Bureau of Economic Analysis National Cancer Institute
Bureau of Justice Statistics National Center for Education Statistics
Bureau of Labor Statistics National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Bureau of Transportation Statistics National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Center for International Comparisons of Production, Income and Prices National Science Foundation
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Nikkei (Japan)
Children’s Bureau (US Department of Health and Human Services) Office of Management and Budget
China Data Institute Office of Postsecondary Education
Claritas OECD
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Quandl
Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board
Defense Manpower Data Center S&P Dow Jones Indices (US)
Deutsche Börse Group (Germany) Shanghai Stock Exchange (China)
Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI) Sharadar
Energy Information Administration Social Security Administration
Environmental Protection Agency Standard & Poor's (US)
European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control Stevens Analytics
European Commission Statistics Canada
Eurostat United Nations
Federal Bureau of Investigation United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
Exchange Data International United Nations High Commissioner on Refugees
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation US Department of Agriculture
Federal Election Commission US Department of Homeland Security
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council US Department of Housing & Urban Development
Federal Highway Administration US Department of Labor
Federal Housing Finance Agency US Department of the Treasury
Federal Procurement Data System US Department of Veterans Affairs
Federal Reserve Board US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Freddie Mac US House of Representatives Office of the Clerk
Groningen Growth and Development Centre US Senate Historical Office
  US Office of Personnel Management
  US Senate Office of Public Records
HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong) World Bank
Infogroup Business USA World Resource Institute
Institute for Supply Management World Trade Organization
Institute of Museum and Library Services Xignite
  Zillow
   

 

The inclusion of datasets in Data Planet from the sources listed here does not imply sponsorship, endorsement, recommendation, favoring or other association with SAGE, Data Planet, and/or any other SAGE products or services by any of the source organizations.

Data Planet

 

 

ATTN DATA PLANET SUBSCRIBERS: Be sure you are logged into your library's network in order to access the Data Planet database from the links provided in these guides.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Emailonlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk

Website: https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/dataplanet

Blog: https://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data Planet guides for your institution.

Searching the Data Planet Repository

Data Planet provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data Planet repository contains more than 157 billion data points from more than 80 source organizations. The over 12.6 billion time series in Data Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.  All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary. The data can be visualized in a variety of charting options, including mapping and ranking.

The Data Planet repository can be searched via two interfaces:

Data Planet Statistical Datasets provides powerful capabilities to dynamically compare and manipulate the billions of statistical indicators available in the Data Planet repository.

Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference product is built on the same content repository, but is designed for quick statistical lookups with the ease of a simple search box. It includes quick views and thumbnails of the data, full descriptions and citations, and DOI links to DataSheets!  

 

Contact support