Skip to main content

Marketing Resources and Data-Planet News for Libraries: Marketing Resources for Your Library

Tools to help libraries communicate about the Data-Planet statistical repository with their communities.

Access to Data-Planet

The Data-Planet repository is accessible via two complementary interfaces:

 

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is available via IP (and proxy server) authentication at http://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/. The Data-Planet Statistical Datasets interface allows users to browse available datasets by subject and source and to manipulate variables to create customized views of the data, as well as to search for statistics of interest via Quick and/or Advanced Search.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference can be accessed directly at http://readyreference.data-planet.com. This access point connects users directly to Data-Planet's Quick and Advanced Search functions.

 

(EZproxy users, please visit here.)

Data-Planet and Accessibility

For information on Data-Planet accessibility, Section 508 compliance, and compatibility with assistive technologies, please see the guide on Accessibility.

SERU Participation

Data-Planet is a registered SERU [Shared Electronic Resource Understanding] participant. 

Marketing Tools for Library Outreach

The resources below are provided to help the library communicate to staff, faculty, and students about Data-Planet Statistical Datasets and Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference. The vast Data-Planet repository, seachable through two complementary interfaces, offers a tremendous depth of statistical data supporing teaching and learning across the curriculum. 

We'll be happy to offer additional tools - contact us anytime with your suggestions! 

We also encourage you to check out and reuse our growing collection of subject and dataset-specific guides, available here.

Suggested Descriptions of Data-Planet for Library Catalog

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather

Help Guide link:  http://data-planet.libguides.com/statisticaldatasets

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference

Navigate the vast collection of US and international statistics available in the Data-Planet repository using the simple search interface of Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference.  Search results are viewed as DataSheets, which include a trend, chart, map, or ranking, complete with descriptions of the dataset and data source. From the DataSheet, users can link directly into the Data-Planet Statistical Datasets platform to fully explore the dataset, create customized charts, and compare and contrast multiple variables of interest. The datasets cover a wide range of subjects - including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, and more.  Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather

Help Guide linkhttp://data-planet.libguides.com/readyreference

For those institutions subscribing to the Data-Planet premium subsets, we suggest adding a listing for each of these in your A-Z list of databases to help increase awareness:

China Data Center

The China Data Center datasets available in the Data-Planet repository provide yearly historical indicators of social and economic characteristics of the People’s Republic of China. Included are national-level statistics dating in some cases to the After entering Data-Planet, find China Data Center datasets in the Browse by Subject – International listing, or under Browse by Source – China Data Center.1950s. Our subscription to Data-Planet also includes access to subnational data distributed by the China Data Center, which provides data for provinces, cities, and counties in China. Topics range from population; national accounts, including Gross Domestic Product and Balance of Payments; employment, labor, and wages; financial and banking data; price indices; government income and expenditures; agriculture; industry, construction, and transportation; domestic and foreign trade; education; health; and natural resources. After entering Data-Planet, find China Data Center datasets in the Browse by Subject – International listing, or under Browse by Source – China Data Center.

Help Guide linkhttp://data-planet.libguides.com/CDC

Note: For a direct link into the China Data Center premium dataset, configure as http://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=china

EASI Market Planner

Enter Data-Planet to explore this large database, comprising 13 datasets useful for market and business research. Using input data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Mediamark, EASI develops model-based indicators of the demographic characteristics, consumer spending, and behavior patterns for a wide range of geographic areas—state, counties, census tracts, and block groups. Mediamark is a market research firm that annually publishes The Survey of the American Consumer, based on detailed interviews of 26,000 households.After entering Data-Planet, find EASI datasets in the Browse by Subject – EASI Analytics listing, or under Browse by Source – EASI Analytics.

Help Guide linkhttp://data-planet.libguides.com/EASI

Infogroup Business – USA

The Infogroup Business USA database, available as part of our Data-Planet subscription, provides data on businesses in the United States, at national and subnational geographic units. Data on businesses in US territories is also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. Statistics are presented on company counts, employee counts, and sales by industry, company, and company location. After entering Data-Planet, find Infogroup datasets in the Browse by Subject – Industry, Business and Commerce listing, or under Browse by Source – Infogroup - Business USA.

Help Guide linkhttp://data-planet.libguides.com/Infogroup

Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices

Enter Data-Planet to find time-series data on Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices. Worldwide Stock Market Prices provides historical prices for equities trading on more than 50 global exchanges. Daily open, close, high, low, and volume statistics are reported. The Precious Metals Daily Price dataset provides daily spot prices for gold, silver, palladium, and platinum, and gold coin prices. After entering Data-Planet, find Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Precious Metals Daily Prices datasets in the Browse by Subject – Stocks and Commodities listing.

Help Guide linkhttp://data-planet.libguides.com/worldwidestocksandpreciousmetals

Marketing Materials for Download

Data-Planet

 

 

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data-Planet guides for your institution.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Email: info@data-planet.com

Website: www.data-planet.com

Blog: http://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

Data-Planet Tutorial

Watch a video tutorial on Data-Planet below!

Or, click here for an excellent introduction to Data-Planet by Amanda Howell, Business Librarian, Andersen Library, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Thanks Amanda! 

Data-Planet Overview and Outreach Tools slides

The attached files outline Data-Planet Overview and Outreach Tools.

Contact us anytime to schedule a training session!

Contact support