Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing Resources and Data Planet News for Libraries: Library Catalog Descriptions

Tools to help libraries communicate about the Data Planet statistical repository with their communities.

Suggested Library Catalog Descriptions for Data Planet

Data Planet Statistical Datasets

Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather

Help Guide link:  https://data-planet.libguides.com/statisticaldatasets


Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference

Navigate the vast collection of US and international statistics available in the Data Planet repository using the simple search interface of Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference. Search results are viewed as DataSheets, which include a trend, chart, map, or ranking, complete with descriptions of the dataset and data source. From the DataSheet, users can link directly into the Data Planet Statistical Datasets platform to fully explore the dataset, create customized charts, and compare and contrast multiple variables of interest. The datasets cover a wide range of subjects - including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/readyreference

Suggested Library Catalog Descriptions and Direct Links for Data Planet Premium Modules

For those institutions subscribing to the Data Planet premium modules, we suggest adding a listing for each of these in your A-Z list of databases to help increase awareness:

China Yearly Statistics

The China Yearly Statistics (National and Subnational datasets) available in the Data Planet repository provide yearly historical indicators of social and economic characteristics of the People’s Republic of China. Included are national-level statistics dating in some cases to the 1950s. Our subscription to Data Planet also includes access to subnational data distributed by the China Data Institute, which provides data for provinces, cities, and counties in China. Topics range from population; national accounts, including Gross Domestic Product and Balance of Payments; employment, labor, and wages; financial and banking data; price indices; government income and expenditures; agriculture; industry, construction, and transportation; domestic and foreign trade; education; health; and natural resources. After entering Data Planet, find China Data Institute datasets in the Browse by Subject – International listing, or under Browse by Source – China Data Institute.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/CDC

Note: For a direct link into the China Data Institute premium dataset, configure as https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=china


Claritas Consumer Profiles

The Claritas Consumer Profiles datasets, available in Data Planet, offer three different geo-demographic segmentation products that help identify groups of consumers who are as likely, more likely, or less likely than the average segment, to engage in various behaviors:

  • ConneXions®, designed for communications marketers, classifies households by video, voice, and data purchasing preferences.
  • PRIZM® Premier, designed to find customers and prospects, classifies households by behaviors.
  • P$YCLE® Premier, designed for financial marketers, classifies households by income-producing assets (IPA) of the household.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/ClaritasProfiles

Note: For a direct link into the Claritas Consumer Profiles premium dataset, configure as https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=claritas_consumer_profiles


Claritas Financial and Insurance CLOUT

Enter Data Planet to use the Claritas Financial and Insurance CLOUT database allows users to identify the potential demand for financial and insurance products and services by geographic area in the United States. Both current-year estimates and five-year projections are available.

  • ​Financial CLOUT provides geography-based estimates of market penetration and user household dollar volume for more than 100 financial products and services.
  • Insurance CLOUT provides geography-based estimates of usage and consumption for over 300 insurance and annuity products and services.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/ClaritasCLOUT

Note: For a direct link into the Claritas CLOUT premium dataset, configure as https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=claritas_clout


EASI Market Planner

Enter Data Planet to explore this large database, comprising 13 datasets useful for market and business research. Using input data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Mediamark, EASI develops model-based indicators of the demographic characteristics, consumer spending, and behavior patterns for a wide range of geographic areas—state, counties, census tracts, and block groups. Mediamark is a market research firm that annually publishes The Survey of the American Consumer, based on detailed interviews of 26,000 households.After entering Data Planet, find EASI datasets in the Browse by Subject – EASI Analytics listing, or under Browse by Source – EASI Analytics.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/EASI

Note: For a direct link into the EASI Market Planner premium dataset, configure as https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=easi


Infogroup Business USA

The Infogroup Business USA database, available as part of our Data Planet subscription, provides data on businesses in the United States, at national and subnational geographic units. Data on businesses in US territories is also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. Statistics are presented on company counts, employee counts, and sales by industry, company, and company location. After entering Data Planet, find Infogroup datasets in the Browse by Subject – Industry, Business and Commerce listing, or under Browse by Source – Infogroup - Business USA.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/Infogroup

Note: For a direct link into the Infogroup Business USA premium dataset, configure as https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=infogroup


International Equities and Metals

Enter Data Planet to find time-series data on Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Futures Contracts Prices. Worldwide Stock Market Prices provides historical prices for equities trading on global exchanges. Daily open, close, high, low, and volume statistics are reported. The Continuous Futures dataset provides a collection of long-term continuous price histories for 78 US and international futures contracts, collectively accounting for over 90% of North American futures trading volume. After entering Data Planet, find Worldwide Stock Market Prices and Continuous Futures datasets in the Browse by Subject – Stocks and Commodities listing.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/worldwidestocksandpreciousmetals

Note: For a direct link into the International Equities and Metals premium datasets, configure as https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=iem


Quarterly Workforce Indicators

The massive Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) database is available as part of our Data Planet subscription. QWI includes 32 indicators providing labor market statistics by industry group and sector, firm size and age, and by worker demographics, dating as far back as 1990 for some geographic areas. Quickly compare and contrast statistics across quarters, industries, geographies, and by firm and worker characteristics.

Help Guide linkhttps://data-planet.libguides.com/QWI

Note: For a direct link into the Quarterly Workforce Indicators premium dataset, configure as https://statisticaldatasets-backup.data-planet.com/dataplanet/?open=qwi

Contact support