Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

US Elementary and Secondary Education Statistics: About US Elementary/Secondary Education Statistics

Provides a guide to statistics on elementary and secondary education in the United States.

About US Public Elementary/Secondary Education Statistics

Many of the statistical datasets on US public elementary and secondary schools that are available in the Data-Planet repository are drawn from the Department of Education’s Common Core of Data (CCD) database, a comprehensive, annual, national statistical database of all public elementary and secondary schools and school districts, which contains data that are designed to be comparable across all states.

CCD contains three categories of information: general descriptive information on schools and school districts; data on students and staff; and fiscal data. The general descriptive information includes name, address, phone number, and type of locale; the data on students and staff include selected demographic characteristics; and the fiscal data cover revenues and current expenditures.

CCD is made up of a set of five surveys sent to state education departments. Most of the data are obtained from administrative records maintained by the state education agencies (SEAs). Statistical information is collected annually from approximately 100,000 public elementary and secondary schools and approximately 18,000 public school districts (including supervisory unions and regional education service agencies) in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense Schools, and the outlying areas.

Data-Planet CCD datasets include the following:

  • Public School Census Detail and Public School Census Summary, which provide information on all public elementary and secondary schools in operation during a school year including school location and type; enrollment by grade and student characteristics; and the number of classroom teachers.
  • Public Elementary/Secondary School Finance, which provides detailed data by local education agency, including revenues by source and expenditures by function and subfunction.
  • School Dropouts and Completions, which provides data by local education agency on the aggregate (grades 9-12) numbers of students dropping out of school and graduation rates. The Department of Education releases data at the aggregate level, rather than by individual grade levels, to protect the privacy of students. Researchers can apply for a restricted-use license to obtain more granular data. You’ll also notice that this data is quite dated: as of 01/2016, the most recent data available are for the 2009-10 school year.

Source: National Center for Education Statistics. Common Core of Data (CCD). Accessed January 13, 2016, https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/aboutCCD.asp.

Statistics on Private Education in the US

The NCES also collects data on private elementary and secondary schools in the United States in its Private School Universe Survey (PSS). PSS grew out of a proposal in 1988 to develop a private school data collection that would improve on the sporadic collection of private school data dating back to 1890 and improve on commercially available private school sampling frames. PSS was first collected in the 1989–1990 school year, with data collections every two years since. The target population for PSS is all schools in the US that are not supported primarily by public funds, provide classroom instruction for one or more of grades kindergarten through 12 (or comparable ungraded levels), and have one or more teachers. Organizations or institutions that provide support for homeschooling but do not provide classroom instruction are not included. 

US Public Elementary/Secondary Education Statistics: DataSheet Examples

Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets comprising statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators relevant to US public education in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between education metrics and other indicators in the vast Data-Planet repository. [Note that when you are logged into Statistical Ready Reference, you can create an updated version of the DataSheet to view the latest available data.] 

The indicators below are linked to DataSheets. These are just a sampling to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data. There are many more indicators on this topic in the repository - add search terms for race/ethnicity, states, counties, and more, or contact your library staff for help in formulating your search strategy.

Student count - vocational education schools: Shows the top 15 states with respect to the number of students attending vocational education schools,

Student count - charter schools: Shows the trend in the number of students attending charter schools in California.

Student count - magnet schools: Shows the trend in the number of students attending charter schools in Norfolk, Virginia.

School count - alternative schools: Shows the trend in the number of schools in the United States classified as alternative.

School count - Title I (entire school): Shows the trend in the number of schools in Texas in which all students are eligible for participation in programs authorized by Title I of Public Law 103-382.

Student count - lunch assistance eligible students: Ranks the top 15 states with respect to the number of students who are eligible for the Free and Reduced-Price Lunch Program under the National School Lunch Act.

Federal revenue - Title I: Shows the trend in the amount of federal revenue received by Michigan schools from Title I funding.

US Private Elementary/Secondary Education Statistics: DataSheet Examples

Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets comprising statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators relevant to US private school education in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets . Log in to create an updated version of the DataSheet to view the latest available data and to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between education metrics and other indicators in the vast Data-Planet repository. 

Total Student Enrollment - presents a ranking in terms of top 10 states in terms of numbers of students enrolled in private elementary and secondary schools in the US

Enrollment by Race - compares numbers of students by race enrolled in private schools in the US

Teacher Count - compares numbers of full-time teachers in private schools across Connecticut counties

School Attributes - ranks states by number of regular elementary/secondary private schools

Time in School - ranks states by number of days in school year of private schools

Sample DataSheet: School Finance

The DataSheet below shows a ranking of the top US counties in terms of amount of federal revenue received to support bilingual education. The infographic was created in Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference.

 

Introducing Data Planet

About the NCES

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity in the United States for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the US and other nations. NCES is located within the US Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. The NCES fulfills a congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of US education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally. The NCES is one of four centers (along with the National Center for Education Research, the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance, and the National Center for Special Education Research) charged with carrying out the work of the Institute of Education Sciences. 

http://nces.ed.gov/

Data Planet

 

 

ATTN DATA PLANET SUBSCRIBERS: Be sure you are logged into your library's network in order to access the Data Planet database from the links provided in these guides.

 Questions, comments, suggestions, technical support requests? Contact us at:

Emailonlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk

Website: https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/dataplanet

Blog: https://data-planet.libguides.com/blog

 

ATTN Library Administrators: Please feel free to re-use and customize Data Planet guides for your institution.

American Community Survey: Education Statistics

The American Community Survey also is a great source of data on education in the United States. The American Community Survey (ACS) conducted by the United States Census Bureau provides estimates of the characteristics of the population over a specific time period. The ACS collects data from the 50 states, Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico, where it is called the Puerto Rico Community Survey. For more information, see American Community Survey, 5-Year Estimates. Below is a sampling of DataSheets related to education in the US:

B14002. Sex by School Enrollment by Level of School by Type of School for the Population 3 Years and Over - compares numbers of males and females enrolled in public vs private nursery schools and kindergarten in New York City

B14005. Sex by School Enrollment by Educational Attainment by Employment Status for the Population 16 to 19 Years - compares employment status among males who are vs are not high school graduates not currently enrolled in schools in New England states.

B15002Sex by Educational Attainment for the Population 25 Years and Over - ranks US states by number of females vs males who are high school graduates.

B16010. Educational Attainment and Employment Status by Language Spoken at Home for the Population 25 Years and Over - shows numbers of English-only vs Spanish-only speakers who are in or not in the labor force in Miami-Dade County.

B17003. Poverty Status in the Past 12 Months of Individuals by Sex by Educational Attainment - shows a heat map of US states of numbers of males with less than a high school education whose income is below the poverty level.

B27019. Health Insurance Coverage Status and Type by Age by Educational Attainment - shows a ranking of top 10 US states based on numbers of persons with less than a high school education that have vs do not have health insurance coverage.

 

Contact support