Below is a listing of some of the many international and US organizations included in the Data Planet repository that collect and disseminate statistical data relevant to business, economics, and marketing research. Note that the searches retrieve top-level views of datasets: there are many more indicators and variables included in each dataset. Add additional keywords to retrieve more precise results, and drill into the datasets and compare statistics across nations in Data Planet Statistical Datasets.
Subscribers: be sure you logged into Data Planet via your library website in order to access the datasets directly!
China Data Institute China Data Institute is a nonprofit organization for China data development, applications, consulting and training. One of its primary goals is to promote international partnerships for China data development and applications. Its missions are: to support research in the human and natural components of local, regional and global change; to promote quantitative research on China; to promote collaborative research in spatial studies; and to promote the use and sharing of China data in teaching and research. The institute is partnering with All China Marketing Research Co., Ltd., as well as other organizations in distributing China statistical data and publications internationally. [China Data Institute China Yearly Statistics (National/Subnational) is a premium dataset. China Data Institute China Yearly Statistics (National) is available as part of the Data Planet core subscription.]
World Bank Founded in 1944 as a result of the Bretton Woods Conference, the World Bank is an independent specialized agency of the United Nations that provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries in order to foster economic growth and reduce poverty.
International Monetary Fund Headquartered in Washington, DC, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) was conceived at a United Nations conference convened in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, United States, in July 1944. The Fund’s mandate has recently been clarified and updated to cover the full range of macroeconomic and financial sector issues that bear on global stability. The IMF is a specialized agency of the United Nations but has its own charter, governing structure, and finances. Its members are represented through a quota system broadly based on their relative size in the global economy.
Groningen Growth and Development Centre The Groningen Growth and Development Centre was founded in 1992 within the Economics Department of the University of Groningen by a group of researchers working on comparative analysis of levels of economic performance and differences in growth rates. The research activities of the Centre are largely based on a range of comprehensive databases on indicators of growth and development that the Centre compiles and maintains on a regular basis. The Centre hosts updates of the Penn World Table, originally produced at the Center for International Comparisons of the University of Pennsylvania, beginning with v8.0.
Statistics Canada Established as Canada's central statistical office by the Statistics Act of 1985, Statistics Canada is required to "collect, compile, analyse, abstract and publish statistical information relating to the commercial, industrial, financial, social, economic and general activities and conditions of the people of Canada." Its main objectives are to provide statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure and to promote sound statistical standards and practices.
World Trade Organization Established in 1995, the World Trade Organization (WTO) provides a forum for negotiating agreements aimed at reducing obstacles to international trade and ensuring a level playing field for all. The WTO also provides a legal and institutional framework for the implementation and monitoring of these agreements, as well as for settling disputes arising from their interpretation and application. The current body of trade agreements comprising the WTO consists of 16 different multilateral agreements (to which all WTO members are parties) and two different plurilateral agreements (to which only some WTO members are parties). As of 2018, the WTO has 164 members, of which 117 are developing countries or separate customs territories. WTO activities are supported by a Secretariat of some 700 staff, led by the WTO Director-General, located in Geneva, Switzerland.
Groningen Growth and Development Centre The Centre was founded in 1992 within the Economics Department of the University of Groningen by a group of researchers working on comparative analysis of levels of economic performance and differences in growth rates. The research activities of the Centre are largely based on a range of comprehensive databases on indicators of growth and development that the Centre compiles and maintains on a regular basis. The Centre hosts updates of the Penn World Table, originally produced at the Center for International Comparisons of the University of Pennsylvania, beginning with v8.0.
United States Census Bureau The United States Census Bureau is a bureau of the US Department of Commerce. The major functions of the Census Bureau are authorized by Article 2, Section 2 of the United States Constitution, which provides that a census of population shall be taken every 10 years, and by Title 13 and Title 26 of the United States Code of Federal Regulations. The Census Bureau is responsible for numerous statistical programs, including census and surveys of households, governments, manufacturing and industries, and for US foreign trade statistics. The first United States census was conducted in 1790 for the purposes of apportioning state representation in the House of Representatives of the United States and for the apportionment of taxes.
Bureau of Economic Analysis Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) is part of the Department of Commerce Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decisionmakers, researchers, and the public to follow and understand the performance of the US economy. BEA economic statistics are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures. BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Energy Information Administration The Energy Information Administration (EIA), created by Congress in 1977, is an independent statistical and analytical agency within the US Department of Energy. Its mission is to provide policy-independent data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
The DataSheets linked below are just a sampling to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data.
From International Monetary Fund datasets:
Outward Direct Investment Positions - In which nations do Singaporeans make direct investments?
External Debt - Compares total external debt of four Middle Eastern nations
Unemployment rate - Compares South Korea to Japan
Currency composition of foreign exchange reserves - Which currencies rank highest in the world's foreign exchange reserves?
Value of the Trade Balance - With which nations does China have the highest trade balance?
From the World Bank:
Value of Industrial Production - Compares four Euro area nations with respect to the value of industrial production
Educational Attainment of the Labor Force - Considering moving production of your product to a particular nation? You might be interested comparing nations on this metric.
Fixed Broadband Subscriptions per 100 Persons - Infrastructure is an important factor to understand when considering new markets.
Food, Beverages, and Tobacco as % of Value Added in Manufacturing - Compare nations on industry performance.
Taxes on Goods and Services as % of Government Revenues - How does the tax situation of different countries compare?
Stocks and Commodities:
Bombay Stock Exchange - Compares trends in stock performance of several power systems providers in India
Singapore Stock Exchange - Track performance of large public companies in Singapore
Follow historic trends of major global stock indexes in Data Planet, with data from the Barchart Global Price Indexes dataset.
Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets created in Data Planet Statistical Datasets that provide statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators included in the Penn World Table datasets. From the infographic, you can also enter Data Planet to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between these metrics and other indicators in the vast Data Planet repository.
These datasets are just a sampling from Penn World Table 10.01 to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data. Statistics provide evidence of cross-national patterns of social and economic development.
Expenditure-Side Real GDP at Chained PPPs - Shows expenditure-based real gross domestic product (GDP) in millions of 2017 U.S. dollars at chained purchasing power parity (PPP) rates for Argentina, Brazil, and Chile. Expenditure-side real GDP allows comparison of relative living standards across countries and over time.
Output-Side Real GDP at Chained PPPs - Reports expenditure-based real gross domestic product (GDP) in millions of 2017 U.S. dollars at chained purchasing power parity (PPP) rates. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Population - Reports population data by country from the World Bank and United Nations sources. Real GDP variables in the Penn World Tables are presented in (millions) of U.S. dollars. The population variable can be used to convert GDP into per-capita terms when relevant.
Number of Persons Engaged - Person engaged is defined in the Penn World Table (PWT) to include all persons aged 15 years and over, who performed work during the reference week, even just for one hour a week, or were not at work but had a job or business from which they were temporarily absent. The chart shows the trend in counts of persons engaged in five European nations
Average Annual Hours Worked by Persons Engaged - Reports average annual hours worked by persons engaged for the same five European nations.
Expenditure-Side Real GDP at Current PPPs - Reports expenditure-based real gross domestic product (GDP) at current purchasing power parity (PPP) rates in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices). Expenditure-side real GDP allows comparison of relative living standards across countries and over time.
Output-Side Real GDP at Current PPPs - Reports output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) at current purchasing power parity (PPP) rates in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices). Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Capital Stock at Current PPPs - Reports capital stock levels in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices).
Capital Stock at Constant 2017 National Prices - Compares capital stock levels in terms of constant (2017) prices for 10 nations in 2019.
TFP Level at Current PPPs (US=1) Tracks total factor productivity (TFP) levels at constant purchasing power parity (PPP) rates for Bahrain, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia, relative to the US in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices). TFP is the portion of output not explained by the amount of inputs used in production.
TFP at Constant National Prices (2017=1) - Reports total factor productivity (TFP) levels at constant prices against the reference year, 2011. TFP is the portion of output not explained by the amount of inputs used in production.
Real GDP at Constant 2017 National Prices - Reports real gross domestic product (GDP) at constant (2011) national prices for South Africa and Nigeria. Real GDP in the Penn World Table means GDP converted to international dollars using purchasing power parity (PPP) rates.
Share of Labour Compensation in GDP at Current National Prices - Compares the share represented by labor income in gross domestic product in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices) for Belarus, Lithuania, and Latvia.
Price Level of CDGPo (PPP/XR), Price Level of US GDPo in 2017=1 - Shows the price level of output-based real gross domestic product per capita (CGDPo) at current purchasing power parity (PPP) rates for Malaysia, Singapore, and the Philippines, defined relative to the US in 2017. Expenditure-side real GDP Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Correlation between Expenditure Shares of the Country and the US - Shows the correlation between expenditure shares in each country and the US for all benchmark observations.
Statistical Capacity Indicator - Provides an index of the statistical capacity of nation based on a scale of 0-100, with 0=weak statistical capacity and 100=high statistical capacity. Statistical capacity is the ability of countries to meet user needs for good quality statistics, typically those statistics that are consider to be “official” (ie, those statistics produced by governments as a public good). The measure is sourced from the World Bank.
Share of Household Consumption at Current PPPs - Compares the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by household consumption across five Caribbean nations. GDP is converted using current purchasing power parities (PPPs). Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Gross Capital Formation at Current PPPs - Compares the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in Brazzavillle vs Kinshasa that is represented by capital formation (investment), at current purchasing power parities (PPPs). Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Government Consumption at Current PPPs - Compares the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by government consumption, at current purchasing power parities (PPPs), for the United States, Russia, and China. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Merchandise Exports at Current PPPs - Reports the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by merchandise exports, at current purchasing power parities (PPPs), for India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Merchandise Imports at Current PPPs - Reports the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by residuals and statistical discrepancies, at current purchasing power parities (PPPs), for India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time. Residuals include trade, eg, trade in services. Statistical discrepancy is included to ensure that expenditure-side accounting adds up to GDP in the national accounts data.
Price Level of Government vs Household Consumption, Price Level of US GDPO in 2017=1 - Shows the price level of the share of output-based gross domestic product (GDP) that is represented by government vs household consumption in Vietnam, relative to the price level of output-based GDP in the US, where 2011=1. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Price Level of Exports vs Imports, Price Level of US GDPO in 2017=1 - Shows the price level of the share of output-based gross domestic product (GDP) that is represented by exports vs Imports in Thailand, relative to the price level of output-based GDP in the US, where 2011=1. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Import-Export Indexes The International Price Program (IPP) of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) produces Import/Export Price Indexes (MXP), which measure the change over time in the prices of goods or services purchased from abroad by US residents (imports) or sold to foreign buyers by US residents (exports). The Import/Export Price Indexes, along with the Consumer Price Index and Producer Price Index, form the basis of three major BLS programs measuring the change in the prices of goods and services in the US economy. Each of the three has been designated as a Principal Federal Economic Indicator.